4 SoM College Obtain 2023 Doctor-Scientist Robust Begin Awards


4 College of Medication college members have been chosen to obtain 2023 Doctor-Scientist “Robust Begin” awards. The awards program, funded with a present from the Nanaline H. Duke Fund, helps promising early profession physician-scientists at Duke as they develop impartial analysis applications. Every recipient will obtain $75,000 yearly for 3 years to help their analysis applications. Since 2017, 35 college have been awarded a complete of $7.7 million {dollars}.  

This 12 months’s recipients are: 

  • Leah Acker, PhD, MD Assistant Professor, Division of Anesthesiology, Division of Neuroanesthesiology, Otolaryngology & Offsite Anesthesiology,  
  • Oleg Alekseev, MD, PhD Medical Teacher, Division of Ophthalmology, Division of Vitreoretinal Illness 
  • Ammon Fager, MD, PhD Assistant Professor, Division of Medication, Division of Hematology 
  • Daniel Nussbaum MD, Assistant Professor, Division of Surgical procedure, Division of Surgical Oncology 

The Robust Begin program is run by the College of Medication’s Workplace for Doctor-Scientist Growth (OPSD) and integrates with different physician-scientist improvement applications together with the Medical Scientist Coaching Program (MD-PhD college students) and the Lefkowitz Society (scientific residents and fellows).  

“The Robust Begin Program is fulfilling its cardinal goal of bounce beginning the biomedical analysis profession of our early-stage investigators, and we’re grateful to the Nanaline H. Duke Fund and the College of Medication for his or her help of this system,” mentioned Rasheed Gbadegesin, MD, affiliate dean for doctor scientist improvement within the College of Medication.  


Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.